Any Advice On Oscars?

NancyD
Hello! So I currently have a 20 gallon tank that contains a 3 inch long Chinese Algae Eater and a 4 inch long Twig Catfish. They are the only two fish I have, my aquarium is very heavily filtered, I keep it at 77° and do a 20% water change every week.
I am looking to add a new fish to my aquarium, one that will actually swim around, but am not sure what to get.
I've always wanted an oscar, but I am not sure if I have the proper tank conditions, or if they will swim well with my two fish. Are there any Oscar experts in here who can give me a yes or no? Any suggestions on what I could get if an Oscar is not an option?

Mazeus
I am not an oscar expert, but 20 gallon is definitely not big enough for an oscar. The mininum size tank for an oscar is 75g.

The Chinese Algae eater will also outgrow your tank (they get about 11inches). Are you open to re-homing and re-stocking?

NancyD
If he starts getting too big I will get a larger aquarium eventually, I have noticed how quickly he grows.

So obviously for now the Oscar is out of the question, but in the future if I ever get a larger aquarium, could the two get along well together? What about the twig cat?

Mazeus
Is it a 20 gallon long?or high?

NancyD
High

Mazeus
Ah ok. That's too small for the twig cat (a 20long is a bit too small too but more doable than a 20 gallon high). So a couple of thoughts. The issue with the chinese algae eater is that as it gets bigger it will may start to harm other fish, it has been known to suck the slime coat off of tank mates. It's not a very good aquarium fish (in my opinion). I'd rehome it.

Would you consider upgrading to a bigger aquarium for the twig cat? Or would you consider rehoming and stocking the 20 gallon high with more appropriate fish.

NancyD