Anubias Dying

Goldie&Yami

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello all! My name is Miranda, I'm new to most of this. I have been fish keeping since January. Up to this moment in time all my current fish are happy and thriving and both my running tanks (5 and 20 gallon) are doing splendidly. I want to work myself up to owning a planted tank. I started out small and what i thought was easy and got an anubias I even got it attached to driftwood already so I knew it would have a healthy root system already. Now it seems to be dying I'm not exactly sure why!! I would like to get as much feedback as possible as to what I'm doing wrong so I can correct it and start growing happy healthy greenery for my water friends. I think after all rhe trouble we went through from the start they deserve it!
I have attached pictures from many angles.
*Before discussion begins I am already in the process of getting a better light. When I bought my plant I didn't realize the vagueness of "low light".
**The light I have currently is only giving off about half the wattage for a 20 gallon planted tank.

Attachments

Goldie&Yami

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Really?! Its got all the spotting on the leaves or yellowing on the bigger leaves and its lost about 4 leaves in the past couple weeks. Right on the end where it looks stringy. The stems on the fallen leaves looked dead stringy and they were soft and mushy. It just seemed unhealthy for it to be doing that. So that's normal?

bitseriously

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
How long ago did you add the Anubias to your tank?

Also, although plants like crypts, java ferns and anubias seem hardy and tough, your best bet to get started with planted tanks is fast growers and floaters.