Another question...sorry

Tracy10

Reaction score
hi,
As I am definitely not going back to my lfs,no more....what with all the problems from my previous posts.
What I wanted to ask is,at the moment my tank has no fish,as I took them back.will my bacteria be ok.If they have nothing to feed on ???
Tring to find a decent lfs in my area,so far 2 are not very good.so have I got a time limit,do fish need to go in soon ???

sorry for all the questions,but want to get it right

Tracy

COBettaCouple

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I know when you are wanting to first cycle a tank, you can drop food in every 12 hrs (the fishless method) https://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm
but I'm not sure if the same trick would work in a tank that is cycled (or even be necessary).

Your tank is cycled now, correct? I think just doing the regular partial water changes would keep the tank ready for new fish. I could be wrong as I'm no expert on the nitrogen cycle, but hopefully some members who are will confirm or deny this.

sgould

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I believe the bacteria will begin to die off if there is no ammonia source in the tank. They feed on the ammonia, and subsequent nitrite, and without those to feed on, they die out. This would have the unfortunate effect of leaving you with an uncycled tank again. I do not know how much time you have before you start losing the bacteria, but I would either get some fish in there fairly soon, or some other ammonia source to keep the bacteria going until you can get fish.

OP
T

Tracy10

Reaction score
could I add some food,would that help ? then do water change before adding fish.hopefully will be getting fish sunday.
there must be a fair bit of pooh in tank from 3 platies I had in there.

Tracy

tan.b

Well Known
Reaction score