Angels, Ram and Betta D:

1. the.andy.08 Initiate Member

Hi there, im new to fishlore.
    My 90 gallon tank seems very peaceful, no fish bother any other fish. My angels are all very chilled out and my ram bothers no one, i was wondering if anyone has had any success with a male betta and angels. I have researched quite a lot and there are many mixed views, i would love to give it it a try though.
    Thanks

2. Wendy Lubianetsky Well Known Member Member

Angels Rams and Bettas

Welcome to Fishlore. It is nice to have you on board. Hopefully you will find it educational and fun.

It sounds like you are set on giving it a try. I would recommend against it. I have both Angels and Rams and they can get quite territorial and aggressive. I believe that there would be to much hostility in the tank and the stress and/or fin damage would be too much for the fishes well being. Now mind you saying that, I have never put a betta in because of the fact I feel it would be harmful, I have however put them in other community tanks and had to remove them because they were not doing well. I am convinced they do better on their own, or with one other fish with them.

3. jbdub Member Member

Hi, welcome!
    My own personal experience is a negative one, the angel killed the betta. They lived together in peace for about 4 months but once the angel matured he got aggresive and killed the betta.
    In saying that you have a 90 gallon tank, which is big, so there is certainly enough room territory wise. Problem is if the Angel decides at any stage he wants rid of that betta its pretty much game over! :;jaws

4. Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore!!

Great advice from other members :)
    I think that the 90g tank is much to much for the betta. Seeing as they need the surface to breath, and are not super good swimmers, that would be a bit much.

5. e_watson09 Well Known Member Member

+1 Shawnie

A 90 gallon tank is too tall for bettas.