Angelfish Tails

Discussion in 'Angelfish' started by livrich, Apr 12, 2017.

1. livrich

livrichNew MemberMember

I was wondering (I know this sounds ignorant, but I'm new to Angelfish)- is there a difference between "veiltail" angels and the regular Pterophyllum Scalare? I was taking a closer look at my young angels and noticed that their tail fins were shaped differently. My gold-and-white one looked identical to the fish in the "veiltail" tank, although she (I think) was in the "assorted" tank with my striped one. Does "veiltail" mean they have longer fins than most others? Here are pictures of them side by side... I had to enhance the color of the photo so you could see more clearly:
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    (And it's not just the angle that I took the picture, it's very noticeable)

2. KinsKicks

KinsKicksFishlore VIPMember

Hello!

Firstly, welcome to the angelfish addiction! I find them so beautiful and just love them to death.

Secondly, I believe she is not a veiltail. Veiltails have MUCH longer fins to the point they almost develop a droopy look when they are long enough/angelfish is older. And its not just their tail. EVERYTHING about them is long, much longer than the non-veiltails. Of course, however, it takes time for those beautiful fins to grow, and the non-veiltail (at the moment) could just not be old enough. What body size is she? I can confirm (or not) my answer with that information.

Hope this helps and all the best!

3. OP
    OP
    livrich

livrichNew MemberMember

That was useful! I really don't know what she will look like, but her tail is about 1 cm longer than the other guy's. Her body (not including fins) is somewhere between the size of a nickel and quarter. Here's another picture:
    [​IMG]

4. bizaliz3

bizaliz3Fishlore LegendMember

The description above would be more descriptive of a super veil angelfish. Not a single gene veil tail. Regular veil tails do not get the droopy looking fins that a super veil tail will.