Angelfish Research

Discussion in 'Angelfish' started by Leafy, Apr 16, 2019.

1. LeafyNew MemberMember

My friend asked me to start a tank for him. I'd like the centerpiece fish to be angelfish. I'm a beginner when it comes to angelfish, and research has come up with conflicting information. I'm looking at a 30-50 gallon set-up.

1) Do angelfish prefer to be in groups or are they okay or even happier by themselves?

1.5) I understand that having two of the same sex can end up in fighting. Is it safer to have three or a single?

2) What types of schooling fish go well with angelfish? I'd like some sort of tetra, but I understand they're a little small.

Thanks everyone. :)

2. coralbanditWell Known MemberMember

I think 1 angel is always safest .
    Larger tetras like black neons or skirt tetras ,even serape or lemon tetras are usually large enough to co exist with angels .

3. LeafyNew MemberMember

Thank you!

4. fjhWell Known MemberMember

For 30g I would only get 1 angelfish. in a 50g you could do 2 because even if they are the same sex they have have territories on opposite sides of the tank. The issue is if you get one of each sex and they breed... then they will terrorize the tank together to keep their offspring safe.

Like Coralbandit said, larger tetra are safe with angelfish. Black neon tetra are chancey, and serpae tetra might nip the angels though. You could go with congo tetra, buenos aires tetra, or lamp eye tetra. Lots of tetras will work, just make sure its too large to fit in a full grown angel's mouth.

5. CrispiiValued MemberMember

1. Angelfish do best in groups imo, but they can be kept alone just fine.

1.5. Numbers usually depends on tank size and whether or not you have a mated pair. Three angels would be bad if you obtain a pair.