Angelfish In 29g

Salty Betta

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Hey all,

Background: 29g tank, 5 zebra danios, 1 electric blue acara, 1 three spot gourami. 2 filters. Totally nonaggressive and peaceful tank.

So I was thinking can I maybe add an angelfish in this tank? If you guys were following my last post you would probably know that I sadly lost 6 neons recently, possibly due to neon tetra disease. I have almost gotten everything cleared up and the tank back on track. Since now I don't have any small fish I was thinking should I get an angelfish. I just love there long fins and colors. The only thing I am worried about is blue acara since there both cichlid. Would it be fine with the acara?? If so, which kind should I get, I'm totally new to angelfishes, so yeah ;(. I kinda want one of the bigger angels with long fins.

Thank You

aussieJJDude

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I personally wouldn't.
1. Angels grow big, and IMO do better in larger tanks.
2. EBA and angel is such close quarters
3. Zebra danios prefer cooler water while angels themselves prefer warmer
4. Gouramis and angel mix are prone to problems

IMO, its best if you consider getting Angel if you ever get another tank or ever upgrade to a larger tank...

DoubleDutch

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
aussieJJDude said:
I personally wouldn't.
1. Angels grow big, and IMO do better in larger tanks.
2. EBA and angel is such close quarters
3. Zebra danios prefer cooler water while angels themselves prefer warmer
4. Gouramis and angel mix are prone to problems

IMO, its best if you consider getting Angel if you ever get another tank or ever upgrade to a larger tank...
Agree, besides that Angels are social fish and should be kept as groups when juvenile and have space to pair of. A single angels will be quite a-social and a 29G too small.

MissRuthless

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years