Angelfish Gender?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Forums' started by Joseph28, Apr 17, 2019.

1. Joseph28Valued MemberMember

Hey everyone, i’ve been struggling to tell if my angelfish are male or female, any guesses?

Attached Files:

2. bizaliz3Fishlore LegendMember

Angelfish cannot be sexed accurately without seeing a breeding tube.

I can't even make a guess with that photo. You are very far away from the fish and they are very small and blurry in the photo.

can you get some close up pictures? Most specifically of the area where the breeding tube would be (which is right about where the poop comes out)

3. Joseph28Valued MemberMember

Would this be good? I just got them yesterday so i’m curious on their genders. I’m still pretty new to angelfish but they seem to stick together so that could be a great sign on male and female

Attached Files:

4. bizaliz3Fishlore LegendMember

They are young and not showing their breeding tubes. So they cannot be sexed at this time. Sorry.

As for hanging out with one another...that has nothing to do with anything. They are young angels, in a brand new environment, and they are keeping each other company and feeling safer as a result. Simple as that.

You said you think it is a"Great" sign that you have a male and female...does this mean you are hoping for a breeding pair?

5. Joseph28Valued MemberMember

Ahhh okay got you but i wouldn’t say a breeding pair but i would want them to be as friendly as possible so that’s why i’m hoping for male and female. Breeding would be amazing though

6. bizaliz3Fishlore LegendMember

They will terrorize any other fish you have if they do end up being a breeding pair and spawning. Do you plan to keep other fish? A breeding pair of angels does not make for a friendly peaceful community.

Also... breeding pairs often break up over time and start harassing each other sometimes relentlessly.

In other words...a breeding pair does not equal a peaceful long term situation.