Angelfish fry! Help!

Blueyedgirl316
Okay so I have these two angelfish who connected very quickly. They previously laid eggs and ate them. This second time around I honestly thought they ate them again. So I get home today and look in my tank and low and behold I have free swimming fry in the tank! (See photo) Mom is definitely a protective little lady now! Fed the parents earlier and she was gonna take my finger off I have never done any of this before and any advice or help would be so appreciated! I have decapsulated baby brine shrimp in my fridge if that is a good idea to feed them? Thank you in advance ☺ They are so stinking cute!

Linda1234
It is best if the first couple of feedings are live because the baby depend on movement to chase/eat the food. If they are willing to eat non-live food then hiraki first bite or golden pearls or similar powder food is sufficient. If the parents are caring for them then they will make sure they get fed. The tank they are in looks pretty sterile so i'm not sure there is much bio-film the frys can eat. Also it is pretty important to not over feed them and to keep the water very very clean. The frys are much more sensitive to impurities in the water than the parents and decaying food is a major problem.

Anyway i would feed them powder food before i would feed them frozen brine shrimp but if you can hatch or obtain live bbs that is a bit better. Note that you want baby brine shrimp as regular brine shrimp is too large. They wont' require food for about 24 hours after they go free swimming as they are still consuming their egg sacks.

Also it is better to feed them 5 or 6 times a small amount. Over feeding is a major problem with frys so the servings should be relatively small.

GlennO