AngelFish fresh water

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by asan0623, Jun 29, 2016.

1. asan0623

asan0623 Valued Member Member

I am new to fish tanks and I have a few questions. I want to keep angel fish I love them. I have two now I had four I also have a tinfoil barb, two silver dollars, pelco, siamese algae, clown loch, and two giant danios. My tank size is 55 I have a fluval 406 and sand as my sud, I have drift wood and a few rocks. I check my water every week everything is right on I also do a water change once a week of a few gallons. I have all types of food from flakes and pellets. Why am I losing fish please help.

Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  2. TheKiwi

TheKiwi Valued Member Member

What're you testing your water with? Test strip or liquid reagents?

I find it quite impossible that you could have decent water parameters, given that you're doing less than 10% change once a week, on a new uncycled tank, with that kind of stock.

(I'm assuming uncycled cos you said you're new to this)

3. Mom2some

Mom2some Well Known Member Member

Welcome to fishlore and the fish keeping hobby! How long has your tank been set up? Do you know about the Nitrogen cycle? What are your exact water parameters? Which fish have died & did they show any symptoms? Hopefully the group mind here can get to the root of your problem so you stop losing fish.

4. OP
    OP
    asan0623

I had the tank running since April. I have been having issues with this tank for a while and every time I get it checked its all good. I go to petco or petsmart which ever is closer and they do the strip.

the tank has been setup since April. Yes I know about the nitrogen cycle. I don't know the exact parameters sorry I wish I could of taken them and took a photo. My angelfish died the very next day my sliver dollar my two tinfoils and my gourami. I just did a 50% water change yesterday.

thanks everyone for the replies so far I can tell I will get help by going this way. :;hi1