Angelfish And Guppy Suddenly Sick

jaymmacy

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hey, I’m pretty new to aquarium keeping. I’ve had my tank for about six months now. It’s a 20 gallon. I have 2 angelfish (one veiled, one koi), a fancy guppy, 2 ghost catfish, a twig catfish, and a balloon molly. I noticed last night that my veiled angelfish was sitting at the top of the tank with its fins clamped to its sides. I started looking at the fish closer and on all my fish I noticed little white dots. I was thinking it was ich so I bought medicine for it and did the first dose yesterday.

Tonight I came home and saw my koI angelfish was now also at the top of the tank with clamped fins, and now my guppy is alive but sitting on the bottom of the tank. It can still swim, it just seems to want to sit there. My fish are usually super interested in eating, but tonight only the ghost catfish and the balloon molly ate. What should I do to help my fish? I have no clue what’s wrong

Bryangar

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
HI jordan,

Welcome to Fishlore! Can I ask some questions?

How long have you had the tank?
Is it cycled? Filtered? Heated? What’s the temperature?

What do you feed them?

What do you do for maintenance? When do you do water changes? How much? When do you clean the filter sponge? How do you clean it?

Do you have a way to check your water parameters? Ammonia? Nitrite? Nitrate? Ph? The numbers would be helpful. If you don’t can you get it tested at your local fish store and ask for the exact numbers?

Your tank is overstocked. Your angels will get too big for your tank, plus if the two bond they will harass every fish in the tank. The ghost catfish need groups of 5 or more. The twig catfish, guppy and maybe molly is the only fish that can go in your tank.