Angelfish advice wanted

Discussion in 'Angelfish' started by bc111, Mar 22, 2010.

1. b

bc111 New Member Member

Hi. I'm relatively new to the aquarium world. I have a 4 gallon well established tank (learned more than I want to know about the nitrogen cycle with that experience) that has a dwarf gourami and a pleco (who is only 3 inches now but will be relocated when my new tank is ready). I have inherited a 50 gallon tank (previous tenents were turtles). I would love to set this tank up to house my pleco and angelfish. The gourami was purchased on the basis of bad advice from LFS and the pleco is the only roomate he will tolerate. I don't want to make the same mistakes with this tank. I cleaned it out (turtles are gross) and started it running again tonight. (but left same substrate) the new water is cloudy (did I mention turtles are gross) but I am willing to be patient because I want to do this right. My plan is to run it until the water gets clear, test the water and then add some fish to keep the nitrogen cycle going (should get a jump start because of the last tenents?) I would like to get something that would be okay with some angelfish but don't trust the fishstore advice. Was a little surprise to see this site recc: gouramis w/angelfish (not mine but maybe small tank is an issue?) I really want a tank with happy angelfish but unsure what to do next, also had a flash of panic that maybe the substrate left from the turtles could harbor an angelfish disease? Any advice would be appreciated - am I no rush to go out and get angelfish until tank is stable and I'm fine with waiting 3 months for that.

2. navyscuba

navyscuba Well Known Member Member

My Angel tanks houses Australian Rainbows, Long fin Leopard Danios, Bleeding heart tetras, Green Cories, Ottos, Black Phantom Tetras, I had Neon tetras but moved them because the rainbows were chasing them constantly. You can probably put the gourami there too.

3. jglove276

jglove276 Valued Member Member