Angel Not Eating & Losing Colour

bowerpower77

Reaction score
I've successfully grown water wisteria without root tabs, liquid fertilizers, or CO2.

Hey Crispii, sorry im new to all this i don't know how to get a hold of you directly but I have a question, my angelfish isn't doing well and I believe he is dying and i have no idea what to do. The water levels are great everything is going good, but he hasn't been acting the same, he stopped eating and he became antisocial and up until today I noticed he is losing his color and you can see his scales which i usually don't see. He also has this stuff hanging off of him like his skin is deteriorating, any ideas of what to do?

nikm128

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
can you tell us the tank size and the exact parameters? Is there anything visibly wrong with him other than getting pale?
@Crispii

bowerpower77

Reaction score
can you tell us the tank size and the exact parameters? Is there anything visibly wrong with him other than getting pale?
@Crispii
He was in a 36 Gallon bow front community tank and I had the water tested last night, everything is great, well was great besides the nitrite, that was in between the 20-40 range which I took care of as soon as I got home. So yeah the water was fine. His skin looks like it's been deteriorating and coming off, don't really know how to explain it. If you can see the photos I have maybe you can see something I don't.

He is in a 10 gallon quarantine tank at the moment.

Crispii

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Another thing that I want to ask is, what other fish live with your angel? Chances are is that one of your fish might be harassing the angel. A stressed fish will often get sick and lose their coloration.

angelcraze

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Yeah, NitrIte tests that I know of only go to 5ppm...if you meant NitrAte that level is ok as long as you keep it on the low end of that