Angel Journey *long Read

H2oAngels

This is more of a spew intended to help anybody starting an angel tank of their own. Of course I would appreciate any and all input as I am a rookie myself.

I bought 3 beautiful blue Pinoy pearlscale zebra (veil?) angelfish. I think that’s their entire name. And a single flying fox 23 days ago that I homed in a 20 gallon high tank. I had done preliminary research, I knew my tank was undersized and they would pretty quickly need new home. I was also aware that a trio of angelfish was less than ideal however I figured being juvenile and siblings the could potentially grow together. We will come back to this shortly.

I have been conducting a fish-in cycle throughout this entire process. Specific numbers will pop up occasionally. With that being said my original set up was a 20 gallon high hex tank (photos attached). I over filtered it to compensate for overstock as my fish grew. I ran a fluval aqua clear 50. I also wanted a larger heater for higher efficiency so I got a 150 watt heater.

My 4 fish seemed to do great for 8 or so days. I am a water test/water change lunatic so my ammonia levels stay very low sub .50 90 percent of the time. The tank also stays appropriately dosed with prime. My slow cycle hasn’t seemed to have any detrimental affect on my fish. However I did notice that one of my 3 angels had become somewhat of a depressed outcast. My iPhone informed me that my screen time has been down nearly 60 percent, I spend my time in front of my tank. I say this because I never once saw any aggression in my tank. All three fish seemed like a happy bunch for the entire time.