Angel friendly tank mates Question

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by trailblazer295, Mar 23, 2010.

1. t

trailblazer295 Well Known Member Member

I am in the process of setting up/cycling my 30g tank and have most of my stock list other than one part. What entertaining fish would work with this list, when I saw entertaining I'm thinking along the terms of rams. I am a beginner at tropical fish.

1 pair angels
    1 pair ??????
    10 bleeding heart tetra (may change to another similar size tetra depending on availability)
    1 pair bushy nose pleco

2. Shawnie

Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

rams might work :) but if you buy a pair of breeding angels, the rest will be terrorized...

3. OP
    OP
    t

What type of ram? I hear GBR are pretty picky about there water quality.

Last edited: Mar 23, 2010
  4. bassbonediva

bassbonediva Fishlore VIP Member

German blue rams (or the golden or electric blue varieties, if you can find them) and Bolivian butterfly rams. I think since they prefer the bottom of the tank, the angels might leave them alone.

5. S

Sammyboi1993 Valued Member Member

German Blue Cold Be Okay not 100% Though and the German Blue has a wounderful colurs on them

6. OP
    OP
    t

The tanks rough setup will have driftwood and swords on the left side (36" long tank) and a rock pile with caves on the right side.

7. OP
    OP
    t

I've seen the GBR and they do have nice colour but I'm not sure if they are a good beginner fish.

8. Jaysee

Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

First off, is the tank a TRUE 30 gallon? If it is, then I would not recommend angels because the tank is not that tall. A 29 and a 30 have very different dimensions.

A pair of BN plecos - 2 plecos are too much for a tank that size.
    A pair of ?? - I don't think a pair of anything would be good with an angel pair in that sized tank

9. OP
    OP
    t

Dimensions 36"L 16"H 12" D

10. Jaysee

That's a true 30 gallon

11. Shawnie