Angel fish species ID

1. c

chrissturdy New Member Member

Hi All,

Can someone please ID this species of Angel for me. I'm by no means an angel expert so not 100% sure. I think scalare, but someone else told me altum.

Angel1.JPG Angel2.JPG

Many thanks,
    Chris

2. Anders247

Anders247 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to fishlore!
    They're P. scalare.

3. OP
    OP
    c

chrissturdy New Member Member

Brilliant, thank you. I think my predecessor was a bit optimistic when he said he had bred 100s of P. altum's. A quick search on the net and I thought P. scalare, but just wanted to check. I was going on the basis that the fins would be longer and a more obvious 'forehead'/notch in the altums. Am I right in saying this?

4. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member

Aren't all angels pterophyllum scalare?

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

5. hampalong

hampalong Well Known Member Member

Yes. Even young altums are very different to scalare. The fins are also a lot longer. You'll know one when you see it.

There's a variety of scalare sold as "Peru altum", they could possibly be those...

6. Anders247

No, there's Pterophyllum altum and Pterophyllum leopoldi as well, they're not as common though.

7. Dom90

The altums all look like they have zebra stripe patterns.

8. Anders247

Yeah.... leopoldi I heard used to be more common until the scalare became popular.
    Apparently leopoldi are harder to breed,

9. hampalong

Leopoldi is a relatively new species, described in 1963. It has never been common yet. :)

10. Anders247

That's new? lol
    I thought a 2009 species was new..... lol
    But I did read somewhere that they were around in the 1970s-1980s.

11. Tolak

Tolak Well Known Member Member