Ammonia

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by Jsut01, Aug 3, 2015.

1. Jsut01New MemberMember

I am very new to fish. I have a 55 gallon tank running a tetra whisper 30-60 filter. I have about 26 fish in it including gouramis, tetras, cherry barbs, Molly's, platys, and Cory cats. I have had 3 die in the past 3 days. The pet store tested the water sunday and told me the ammonia was high. I did about a 20% water change that day. I have a gourami swimming sideways today. How do I know if its something besides the ammonia and what can I do to not loose more fish? I don't have a sick tank or spare to put them in. I watch the fish a lot. Most are acting normal, but some are just "sitting" around on the bottom. I have started as of yesterday just feeding 1x a day and only a pinch. Any suggestions?

2. ricmccWell Known MemberMember

As ammonia is very toxic, I don't think that you need to look for another agent causing fish death just yet. Rather than settle for a term such as high, when describing your ammonia, your LFS should have given you an exact number.
    Having your own test kit is basically a must, and the API Master Kit seems popular, for good reason, IMO.
    You can detox both ammonia and nitrite with Prime, but that is a temporary solution.
    Perhaps if you could get back with more exact numbers, including pH as it effects ammonia toxicity, people here would be better able to help you. Good luck, rick
    BTW, I believe that you are filtering somewhat on the light side. As well, lacking a test kit, just how did you determine that your tank was ever cycled?

Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  3. happygoluckyWell Known MemberMember