Ammonia Wont Go Down and I Don't Know What To Do

Peteley

Hi all,

Im fairly new to fishkeeping so please be understanding.

I have a tank (130L) with a female betta, 10 neon tetras, 1 siamese algae eater and 5 corydoras. Had the tank cycling for 5 or so weeks until nitrites and ammonia hit zero. Added fish (gradually, not all at once) and everything was going fine until about a week ago. I needed to borrow some filter media for a crashing tank, and took maybe 20% of the media out and replaced it with new media. Other tank recovered well. Now this tank (the one I took the media out of) is reading at HIGH ammonia (1-2ppm) even though I am doing daily water changes with RO water or water from my other (0ppm ammonia) tank. I use RO water because the ammonia in my tap water is about 0.5 ppm. Nitrites are at 0ppm so I know the cycle didn't crash...right? What do I do? All my cory's are starting to act really lethargic, lying on their sides, and one couldn't stop floating to the top (quarantined him but he's not looking too good). Can anyone please give me advice? I am crying-frustrated over these tanks and just feel like I was not meant for this hobby because EVERYTHING is going wrong.

I have a Eheim canister filter and an air-stone thing with sponge wrapped around it (I took it out of my good tank because I thought maybe the beneficial bacteria and oxygen would help). I dose all new water with Seachem Prime and Fluval's Biological Enahncer. If you need any more information please let me know.

Any advice is welcome. I just need to get this ammonia down so my babies don't die. Thank you.

Bwood22

Yes. the cycle has crashed. Too much bacteria was disturbed.

It's going to be ok. We can help you.

You need to do a large water change to get your ammonia level down below 1ppm. Once your ammonia level is brought down dose some Prime to detoxify the remaining ammonia.