Ammonia Up After First Water Change

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by TWRC, Aug 23, 2019.

1. TWRC

TWRCNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +5
    Experience:
    Just started
    Hello everyone! I'm new to the aquarium hobby, and also new to the forum - despite lurking around for about a month.

About a month ago, I started the cycle on my 10 gallon aquarium with some Prime, TSS, and one Guppy. About two weeks later, I used an API Master Test Kit to take some readings and came up with:

7.6 pH
    7.4 high range pH
    0 ppm ammonia
    0 ppm nitrite
    5.0 ppm nitrate

I figured that it was time to add some more fish, so now I have 5 guppies in my 10g. All was going well, and 3 days ago, I figured that it was time to do my first water change. I used Prime to prep my water and did a 25% water change. Today, I did some readings and came up with:

7.6 pH
    7.4 high range pH
    0.5 ppm ammonia
    0 ppm nitrite
    0 ppm nitrate

I'm not sure why my ammonia readings went up, but I wonder if it's because I vacuumed all of my substrate? Did I just remove a bunch of beneficial bacteria from my tank by accident? Should I add some TSS? Dose with Prime?

Any suggestions on what I should do to lower my ammonia would be great! Many thanks!

I forgot to mention. The guppies do not seem stressed.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2019
  2. mattgirl

mattgirlFishlore VIPMember

Closer to Heaven every day but for now-Arkansas
    Ratings:
    +6,751
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Vacuuming your gravel didn't do it. One guppy would not have produced much ammonia. The less ammonia the less bacteria you will have. When you added 4 more guppies there will naturally be more ammonia. You are getting the ammonia reading now because there was only enough bacteria to handle the bio-load of one guppy.