Ammonia spike

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by Botter, Aug 6, 2014.

1. B

Botter New Member Member

Hi im still fairly new to this amazing hobby. I've had my tank for about 7 months now and its been doing pretty good other then the fact that I learned the hard way not to use paper test stripes. My aquarium went through the hole initial cycle phase pretty well. I have a 45 gallon tank. 3 angels. 3 Cory cats ( lost a few in cycle phase with slow reaction because of expired stripes)3 pleco. And about 8 tetras again lost a few. It's been about 5 months since that and all was good. So i finally decided to splurge on a couple of younger discus and a couple of hillstream loaches. And 4 plants. Now about a week later and caught very early this time my tank started to cycle again. My ammonia and nitrites spiked pretty high. It's been 4 days since. I've done water changes and been treating with prime and my normal maintenance cycle and conditioner. I now have the nitrites almost perfect but ammonia is not changing. It's was darn near 4 ppm today. I know prime might hide it.my fish show no signs of stress. They are eating. They seem alittle exited at most. Did I add to many fish at once?or plants? I have noticed the foggy coming and going so i no there are blooms happening. Any thoughts?

2. FiscCyning

FiscCyning Valued Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore! I'm sorry you're having trouble with your tank but hopefully we can help.

Unfortunately adding so many fish overwhelms your beneficial bacteria and put your tank through a mini cycle (sometimes not so mini!). Keep up with large, frequent water changes to keep those ammonia levels low. You also are actually overstocked anyway. You may need to consider returning or rehoming some of your larger fish, unless you want to upgrade to a bigger tank.