Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Ammonia Spike From Meds?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Water' started by Screamingmimi1979, May 24, 2019.

1. Screamingmimi1979 New Member Member

I have a 10 gallon tank with a Marineland Penguin Biowheel. It's been up and running for almost 3 years. I have a heater set to 77 degrees F. I have one male betta, a mystery snail, a nerite snail and live plants (Anubias and wisteria). Nothing new added to tank in the past year.
    I do a partial water change of about 20% every Saturday. I use Top Fin water Dechlorinator when I do my pwc. I have a syphon that I use for water changes and I vacuum the substrate (gravel).
    I cycled the tank when I got it 3 years ago before adding anything. I use API Freshwater Master Kit to test the water.

Ammonia: 0.25 (has gone down from 0.5)
    Nitrite: 0
    Nitrate: 5
    pH: 6.4
    I feed Stormy in the morning, just a few pellets (Zoo med Betta pellets)

I have had Stormy for almost 3 years.
    I noticed a white fuzzy spot on his dorsal fin a month ago. It looked a fungus. I did a few water changes and the fuzziness went away and it looked raw.
    I used Tetracycline and it seemed to help for a few days. Now his spot is worse. I noticed the ammonia spike last week and have been doing 25% water changes every other day since I found out.
    He is still acting OK. Swimming around and greeting me when I walk by him. He is also eating normally.

I am wondering if the meds caused the spike and the spike is why he isn't healing and what can I do. Stormy and the tank were gifts from my boyfriend 3 years ago. My boyfriend passed away last year and I will do whatever I can to help Stormy get through this. I feel stupid because I think the meds did more harm than good.

Attached Files:

2. david1978 Fishlore Legend Member