Ammonia - Nitrite - Nitrate

Skavatar

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
@Zka17

from our previous discussion on the Nitrite thread. Help - Nitrites Wont Go Down?

Ammonia ppm = Nitrate ppm?

Post #8

When the test kits give measurements in ppm, this refers to mg/L.

Comparing an equal number of molecules of ammonia to nitrite to nitrate would be equal if you are considering molarity, but not when you put mass into the picture.

Molecular weights:
N = 14.01
0 = 16.00
H = 1.01

NH3 = 16.03
NO2 = 46.01
NO3 = 62.01

You still have the same number of nitrogen atoms, but the molecule has "gained weight" because of what it has been converted to.

Skavatar

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Zka17 said:
ppm (parts per million) as a measurement unit is pretty controversial - at least in my head... as a scientist, I am working with SI units (ppm is not SI), and just cannot take it as it is... The controversy comes from the possible definitions: ppm could be a mass fraction (kg/kg), or a mole fraction (mol/mol), or a volume fraction (m3/m3 or l/l) - now, mg/l is none of these, except if we are talking about water (H2O)...
Most of the scientific studies I've read and discussed on here about fish, and water quality issues all use ppm or mg/L. Even our city's annual drinking water report uses ppm, ppt, ppq, and mg/L. Since fish live in water H2O, we use ppm and mg/L.(my best guess)

Zka17 said:
Do we know if the test kits used by us are meaning that ppm=mg/l?
according to API instruction manual, yes ppm=mg/L https://www.apifishcare.com/pdf/34_Test_Kit_WEB_Instructions-1.pdf

Zka17 said:
An another question is what exactly our test kits are measuring? Ammonia-nitrogen and nitrite-nitrogen (the nitrogen derived from ammonia/nitrite)? Or effectively the ammonia and nitrite? Because if they measure the nitrogen derived from each, then 1 ppm ammonia = 1ppm nitrite...