Ammonia level Help 

ohough88

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hey guys, i'm fairly new to fishkeeping and looking for some advice about my tank. About 12 - 14 weeks ago I bought a 60L tropical tank from my local petsathome, the woman that served me told me to set it up and leave it for a week before putting fish in. I went back a week later and was told by a different member of staff that guppies would be good to start with so I bought 5 guppies. Needless to say 4 days later I discovered guppies are not good to start with as I only had 2 left, one of which I discovered had tailrot which I then had to treat the tank for. I was taking my water to be tested about twice a week and they kept telling me all the levels were high and to just keep doing water changes. After I took the guppies that survived back to the store I didn't have anything in the tank for about a week. Because of the bad advice I was given they gave me two danios for free which I still have in the tank. I bought an API freshwater test kit about 5 weeks ago so I could test the water myself, for the first couple of weeks I had quite high ammonia levels (about 1-2ppm)and very high nitrite levels (5ppm). About 3 weeks ago my ammonia started to come down and then my nitrite came all the way down to 0. My ammonia level has never gone down to 0 though, every time I test it I always get 0.5ppm. The nitrite level has stayed at 0 and my nitrate level fluctuates between 5-20ppm. I use nutrafin aqua+ as a water conditioner and am currently doing a 25% water change every other day. I've tested the tap water and the the new tank water containing the aqua+ before I add it to the tank and both read 0. I don't think i'm overfeeding because I only feed them a small pinch of food every other day so i've got no idea why the ammonia level is stuck at 0.5ppm.

Any advice you could give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

ExiledxAssassin

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started