amazon sword plant is turning brown 30 Gallon Tank 

xbluexlagoonx

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
hi im new to fish lore and i started up my 35 gl tank a month ago and i bought an amazon sword plant about a week ago and when i bought it, it was perfect and green with no brown spots. but now it has brown spots appearing everyday more and more. i read that it needs alot of light and i only have a 15wat bulb. could this be why it is turning brown or do i need a fertilizing supplement. my anglefish love the plant and id hate to get rid of it cuz it died. also my ph is 1.0 which the plant should be in a ph of 6.0-8.0. the person at the pet store said it will be fine but im not sure to what may be causing the brown spots. please help thanks

Nutter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to Fishlore

Your PH is 1.0!! That's got to be a typo. Is it possible for you to post a photo of the plant? That way we can see exactly what the damage is & how it is forming. My first guess would be that your tank is starting to get diatoms & the brown spots are actually on the leaves not the actual leaves themselves getting brown spots. Unfortunately the 15w light you have isn't going to be enough to grow the Sword plant in your 35gal tank though so it is possible that lack of light is a problem. Low lit tanks are notorious for suffering from diatoms. PH could also be an issue depending on what it really is.

The next thing is are you absolutely sure that the tank is 35gal? a 24" x 8" tank shouldn't hold anywhere near that volume of water. That should be more like 10 gallon.

NMfishman

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to fishlore