Amano Shrimp

spike98

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I have 2 Amano shrimp with this whitish color. I know it usually means death but what is the longest you've had them survive for with this issue? I would also like to know if it's possible they are molting (I'm new to shrimp owning). I had a few that turned white when I got them but they died earlier. I discovered the old flakes I had had copper in the ingredients so I believe when they found little bits left on my sponge filters they ate the pieces making them sick. The third picture is what most of my Amano shrimp look like.

Here's a better image of one of the healthy ones.

Attachments

sfsamm

Well Known Member
Reaction score
I had an issue in January in one of my neo tanks that has several Amano shrimp. One got cloudy, quite cloudy actually and a perfect example of all the photos you see online of bacterial issues or muscular necrosis. It's May..?.. Aaaannnnndddd my neos have completely recovered and the one Amano is still a bit cloudy but molts and manages just fine. It seems to be very slowly improving. But 5 months, I don't worry about losing her anymore lol

itsEmma

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hi Spike, I've kept Amanos for a few years, I'm no expert, but at least can share my experience which I hope might help.
Firstly, from what I've read, I don't think that the traces of copper in food would make them sick. A few shrimp foods have minute quantities of copper added, good for the blood, I think. Copper as a problem comes from copper pipes and medicines, I think.
So, to this cloudynness, I'll start with the positive, I've noticed that the day before my Amanos molt, they do go a bit opaque. Next day, I spot the molt (which is sort of cloudy) and the Amanos is back to its normal clear colour.