Am i overstocking?

1. price25 Initiate Member

I am just a beginner at all of this. I bought a 5.5 gallon tank, decorated it, bought the equipment, and started stocking it with fish. I have 3 lyre tail guppies and 3 black neon tetras in the tank. The six fish have been living well together for about 4 weeks now, but i keep reading posts about how few fish you can put in a five gallon tank. Now i realize i should have gotten a 10 gallon tank atleast because you can't do much with a 5.5 gallon.

I just want to know whether or not i put too many fish in the tank or whether or not i could add a couple more very small fish.

Thanks

2. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to the forum

A 10 would be much better. In my opinion the black neons are a bit big for the tank. Not the three themselves, but the larger school that they should be kept in. There are a lot of smaller fish that you would be able to keep a larger school of, without making compromises.

3. soltarianknight Fishlore VIP Member

The guppies would make it stocked. Black neons would do better in a 20gal in a proper school.

4. bowcrazy Well Known Member Member

There are lots of things that govern how many fish you can put into any tank. For starters the size and shape of the tank is the first thing to consider and the second is the size of the fish when it is fully grown and the third thing is the quality of the filtration system. There are also things like are the fish schooling fish or loners, are the fish passive or aggressive and are they just the right size to be considered food for the other fish.