ChrisTheFishkeeper2004

Valued Member
Reaction score

Ms rose

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I wouldn't think so, but I'm not familiar with a few of the fish you keep. But going by the general rule one inch of fish per gallon, you have space. Imo, but I'm no stocking expert and other will chime in shortly and either agree with me or say hey, she doesn't no what she's talking about, you are full lol.

Edit to add: you have a canister filter and live plants so that even more reason I feel your fine.

DaleM

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
ChrisTheFishkeeper2004 said:
Hello everyone, so in my tank I have 7 guppies, 1 powder blue dwarf gourami, 1 Nerite snail, 3 Clown plecos (not for algae I just like them) 2 otocinclus cats and 3 Sterbai Cory catfish. Am I overstocked? The reason I ask is because I wanted to get a few more Cory cats and a few more otocinclus... but the man at the store said I’m overstocked. Oh also I have a 70 gallon tank, with a canister filter and live plants
You're not really overstocked IMO, although Plecos do have large bioloads so they would be the most concern. What are the dimensions of your tank and what model is your canister filter?

You definitely need to up the numbers of your Sterbai and Otos as they prefer to be in a shoal. Also keep an eye on your gourami for any signs of aggression. Also, you'd need to manage your guppies as they are prolific breeders and can quickly over run your tank.

I've seen ranks far more overstocked than yours though!

Please never use the inch per gallon rule, it is seriously flawed in every conceivable way.

Ms rose said:
I wouldn't think so, but I'm not familiar with a few of the fish you keep. But going by the general rule one inch of fish per gallon, you have space. Imo, but I'm no stocking expert and other will chime in shortly and either agree with me or say hey, she doesn't no what she's talking about, you are full lol.