Am I nearly cycled?

Highlander88

Me again! I feel like I'm always bothering y'all! This was my results today in my son's tank that already have fish in it. If you haven't seen my other questions then quick of it is I was told the tank was cycled and we bought fish only to find out a week later it wasn't cycled.

So I have amonia and nitrate which confused me because I thought nitrates would be present when amonia would be gone. The nitrite was at 0 and the pH looked somewhere between the two bottom colors. Does this all mean that the tank is almost cycled? Or am I just in the middle of it? I have never seen the nitrite test anything but light blue. I'm using prime regularly with water changes.

Thanks for any advice given!

Attachments

• PXL_20210421_134621168.jpg
    PXL_20210421_134621168.jpg
    154 KB · Views: 25

EntirelyEm

that looks like a lot of ammonia, are the fish okay ? I'm by no means an expert on any of this, but I'd do a water change !

Upvote 0

Highlander88

that looks like a lot of ammonia, are the fish okay ? I'm by no means an expert on any of this, but I'd do a water change !

The fish are totally fine and I'm doing water changes daily with prime and stability. I even did a 100% water change a couple weeks ago. I don't understand how it's so high all the time. I can't get it to go away. It's driving me insane!

Upvote 0

LHAquatics

Don't worry, you aren't bothering anyone. If the nitrites are 0, that means there are enough nitrite-eating bacteria that nitrite doesn't show. When the ammonia gets to 0, you can consider yourself fully cycled, but I add a full dose of ammonia. When everything is 0 except for the nitrates, you are 1000% cycled.

Upvote 0

mattgirl