Am I Doing It Right?? Fist Time Owning A Fish Tank

Benji109395

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
So we bought a 55 gallon tank, set it up and completely wiped out a bunch of fish because Petsmart is obviously not the place to advise you on this stuff... Since then I've read so much info online and have successfully cycled my tank.

To cycle my tank I used Stability by Seachem for 7 days as directed and when I did water changes. I have a Freshwater master test kit from API I have used to keep track of my water. My ammonia spiked then finally dropped to 0 and so did my Nitrites, it took a total of 13 days. My Nitrates are currently at about 20ppm, which I hope is okay.
On day 14 I added a bottle of 7 that treats 40 gallons to hopefully add more bacteria. Later that night (Friday 4/20/18) we bought a Bala Shark and introduced him to the tank. On Saturday 4/21 after talking with the guys at PetWorld, a local pet/fish store we purchased a pretty big Tin Foil Barb and put him in. Besides looking a little uncomfortable with his giant tank mate they have been doing fantastic!

Pet World got in some Tiger Oscars though, and since I wanted some so bad.. I purchased 2 smaller ones and introduced them along with a small Pleco yesterday Monday 4/23. I know they will get big, but I am getting a 90 gallon tank Friday!!

So far so good with everything but I'm hoping I didn't add them all too fast so was hoping for some advice on how to make sure everyone stays healthy. I know the Oscars are kind of mean and so I don't know what exactly to expect with this set up.. I'm about to test my ammonia and Nitrites in a bit and can post the results.

Any advice at this point would be so helpful as this is my very first time having an aquarium! I do not want any of these guys to die so please help lol

DutchAquarium

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years