Alternate To Hob Or Canister?

Discussion in 'Filters and Filtration' started by Galaxyfish, Jun 19, 2018.

1. GalaxyfishNew MemberMember

I have a 40 gallon long, currently with two HOB biowheel filters totaling 250 GPH. I hate these filters. Every time I try to mod the media, I get too much bypass, and the wheels stop spinning. They don't generate enough suction to get the detritus of the sand. They're noisy, and they cause too much evaporation.

I've been thinking about n Aquaclear 70, but I don't understand how water flows through it. So, I worry that water would just stagnate at the bottom, while circulated water flows through the path of least resistance. Am I crazy?

I want to switch to a canister filter, but the location makes it impossible to place the canister below the tank. What other options do I have? I'm still a newbie.

2. Discus-Tang

Discus-TangWell Known MemberMember

You could use a power filter.

With a fan-propelled powerhead, the water is pumped through the media and the pump, and then out of the filter. The entire process happens underwater

Buy now! Only $29.99!

3. Mazeus

MazeusWell Known MemberMember

Sponge filter is also an option.
    Pros- Cheap to run
    Cons- takes up room in the tank, air pumps tend to be loud

4. E150GTValued MemberMember

I don’t think any HOB will get all of the detritus out of the sand. That’s why they make gravel vacs. I have an AC70 on my 29 gallon. It gets a lot of gunk out as I put some filter floss in there but I still have the vacuum. The floss is on the bottom so I know it’s flowing properly from bottom to top. I removed the biowheel off my penguin because it stopped turning. I just use sponges now inside, and especially on the intake.

5. Fashooga

FashoogaFishlore VIPMember

The Marineland Biowheels normally don't work at all. The main stuff that makes the tank run is what you have in the housing and not the wheel.