Almost ready to put my 90 gallon together (nearly went saltwater)

BFG Scott

Reaction score
Experience
3 years
So for a little over 3 years, I had a lightly stocked 20 gallon. About 2 to 3 months ago, I saw a good deal on a Marineland 38 gallon bow front and picked one up. Once I had it cycled to the point where I was stocking it, I started to realise how many more options I would have if I only had a bigger tank. Well, we all know how this story goes...

I started looking on Craigslist and was amazed to see how affordable aquarium stuff can be on the secondary market. As a side note, during my almost daily trips to the LFS while I was getting the 38 up and running, I got chummy with the salt water guy. I started learning about saltwater and basically, the major drawback was setup cost. As I was piecing together a larger system off of Craigslist, saltwater started to become a possibility. I was picking up equipment knowing I might go either way.

Here's what I was able to get so far...

- A used Hagen 90 gallon with stand for $75 (included a few fake plants a 5 gallon bucket of black gravel)
- On the way home from picking up the 90, I stopped a Petsmart and they had the Marineland "Advanced" LED light (48-60 inch) on for $110 down from $220. Because the box was open, I got another 10% off. So $98 brand new.
- Since the LED was also good for saltwater, I was looking for protein skimmers and spotted an AquaC Remora on Craigslist. It was brand new (bought for a second tank that never happened and had never seen water). Mine for $50 and included the optional pre-filter and Maxi Jet 1200 pump.
- Another "bought for a tank that never happened", I picked up a SunSun 304b canister filter, brand new with media for $40.
- At this point, I was convinced I was going saltwater so I started looking for a sump tank. I found a 50 gallon Hagen with two Aquaclear 50 filters, a fluorescent light, some plastic plants and a couple 1 gallon buckets of gravel for $40.