Algae Id On Several Plants Needed

Discussion in 'Algae' started by ShamFish97, Jun 16, 2019.

1. ShamFish97

ShamFish97Valued MemberMember

Hello all,

. I'm very new to planted tanks, and have been doing my best to maintain the water parameters as of lately.

I've been battling to get my cycle on. Ammonia is converted daily to nitrite, and when I do tests it normally is 0 or slightly above. Nitrates are always 20-80ppm or higher, and I've been doing 50 PWCs every other day sometimes daily to keep things moving. I have a total of 105 Watts between my two Fluval 3.0 lights. They're on around 7am and off around 9pm. I'm using Black Diamond Blasting Sand as substrate, and I've been adding prime with water changes.

2. kallililly1973

kallililly1973Fishlore VIPMember

I would start with cutting your light time down. 7am-9pm is a very long time. I would go with noon to 9 the most. But while your trying to get rid of the algae you may want to do a 2-3 day blackout or possibly cut them down to about 4-5 hours.

3. GlennO

GlennOValued MemberMember

Are you injecting CO2? If not I agree that lighting should be cut drastically, especially if you are running them at full intensity. Are you dosing ferts or glut? I can see various algae types including staghorn which can be persistent stuff. Bear with it, the first 12 months with a planted tank is usually the hardest, battling algae until you get the right balance of nutrients and lighting.

4. OP
    OP
    ShamFish97

I am not injecting CO2. I was using a mix of flourish, but stopped that. I tried easy green for a while, and then realized my nitrates were high enough that i didnt need to be dosing... Considering picking up some SAE's to help...

5. GlennO