Air pump and air stone

kkw
I am new to the whole aquarium world, but am very interested and wanting to learn. I am getting a 29 gallon tank soon and I have a question about air pumps and air stones. I know about cycling tanks and all that so no need to worry. I realize that with a tank that size aeration would be necessary. My question is, how exactly do you set it up? Obviously, the tube runs from the pump to the tank and the stone on the end of the tube. But where do you put it all? Do you run the tube down a corner and put the stone under the gravel? Put the stone on top of the gravel? What exactly does the stone do? Does the stone release oxygen? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Alessa
Ok, you can pretty much put it under the gravel so that it does not show. Air pumps and airstones work pretty much in two ways:

1) when the bubbles formed are small enough they introduce oxygen to the tank and take out carbon dioxide.

2) Nevertheles, this is not always enough because the bubbles sometimes aren't small enough and don't stay in the water a long time, so what they do is create some current in the surface, creating gas exchange and introducing oxygen to the tank.

Welcome to FL! you will get a lot of great advice in fishkeeping and great advice from awesome people!

pepetj
HI kkw: Welcome to fishlore!