Agression/Stress in Tiger Barb Schools

1. alexunbalanced Initiate Member

Does anyone know if gender ratios in tiger barb schools affect their aggression or stress at all?

Thanks
    Alex

2. Dovah Well Known Member Member

I'm no expert but I would assume that a higher female to male ratio would be best. However, if I remember correctly, tiger barbs are rather difficult to sex with the naked eye. With a semi-aggressive species like tiger barbs I wouldn't keep them in any group smaller than 15 individuals anyways.

3. maty Initiate Member

what iv read about tiger barbs is your best to keep them in groups of 6 or more there like wolfs they astabise a pecking order ones top dog the next 2nd n command and so on they can have a bad rep for bullying or nipping other fish if kept in a small group or alone I use to have one green tiger with 6 odessas just to see its personaly what I noticed it grouped up we the odessas and didn't bother any one apart from my yoyo loach them two was insepreble I think it thought it was the same type of fish as of the line markings or maybe they were just pals I was going to buy five more to form a grop but it died I had all my fish in a tank with sand there was a gas bubble it send fish loopy in the head the tiger barb was first to die then a black shark and a clown loach I have my fish in a gravel tank now so don't need to worry about gas bubbles.if ur worried about sress have a group of 6 or more add stress coat and feed well if you under feed some may not get the right amount of food and may become stressed that's all I can really tell u I'm getn a group of them soon but I'm adding them last incase they attake any new comers

4. maty Initiate Member