African Dwarf Frog: stuck in filter intake

1. H

Heidijomac New Member Member

Hello everyone! I have a 37 gal freshwater tank. I am new to the hobby (three months) but absolutely love it so far! I have a darling little frog who I found just this morning stuck to the intake valve of my filter. Both of my babies little feet were completely entangled in the valve! After turning off the filter and disentangling his little legs he is amazingly still alive! I feel so bad for this poor little fella as his legs and feet are all bright red. Is there anything I can do to help him? Is he going to die? I have separated him into a little baby box that I use for my Platys when they have babies (17 so far!) to make sure the other fish in my tank do not try to pick on him. Is this all I can do?

2. Lucy

Lucy Moderator Moderator Member

Welcome to FishLore!!

Awww, how frightening!

Usually healthy frogs and fish don't get sucked into the filter intake.
    Were his legs red before he got stuck?
    Was he acting and eating normally?

You did the right thing by moving him away from the other fish and out of the strong current.
    Other than the red legs and feet how is he acting?

Keep the water in the box really clean to help prevent infection.
    Hopefully he just needs some time to recover.

Is it possible for you to get a small tank for him?
    A 37g with other fish isn't an ideal environment for an ADF.

3. OP
    OP
    H