African Cichlids For 35 Gallon Hexagon Tank?

tankman2

Reaction score
I am fairly new to the fish hobby, about a year. I have kept community and african cichlids over the months with no problems. My question is about another tank that I have. It is a decent size 35 gallon hexagon tank. I am wondering if there are any african cichlids that would be able to go into this tank. Any feedback or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Brian

Marc

Well Known Member
Reaction score
You can stock it with any of them, but I'd be worried about the setup. Since they will need alot of caves to be happy, I'm not sure this would be easy enough to do. You could, however, get some of the more peaceful Africans, like some of the dwarf species of Lake Tanganyika, though they aren't as colorful as the more common Mbuna species. I have an African Cichlid tank with mostly Mbuna sp., but it's a long tank - so I have a ton of rock caves and it's heavily overstocked. I can try and help you more if you have a certain kind of African Cichlid in mind.

tankman2

Reaction score
Hi Marc,
Thanks for responding. My main goal here is to set up a colorful African tank that will be displayed in the house. I am very interested in the Mnuba's as you say. Do you think the mnuba will be comfortable in this type of tank provided that I give them lots of caves?

Marc

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Yes - but my main concern would be how difficult it would be to build the caves. In a tank that size, I've found that it'd best have about 20+ fish, though I wouldn't put more than 25. Yes, yes, I know.. it'd be overstocked according to the typical stocking rules (1" of fish per gallon) but that's the best way to setup an African Cichlid community tank.