African Cichlids Experts..... Help A Beginner Identify Some Fish! Question

Discussion in 'Fish, Snail, Worm And Pest ID Help' started by Sagar77, Aug 30, 2018.

1. Sagar77

Sagar77New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1
    First time posting on this forum. I'm an African Cichlid newbie and like any noob.... I went to my Petco and bought three Aulonocara peacock african cichlids! Don't worry they will survive. ;)

However, I'm calling on the african cichlids experts to identify these 3 Aulocara species (if possible) identify their gender. I will post some pics to help you in your sleuthing. Thanks in advance!

Fish 1: Blue with faint vertical stripes. Species? Gender?

Fish 2: Lemon colored. Species? Gender?

Fish 3: orange head, blue face. Species? Gender? 20180830_180645.20180830_180637.20180830_180643.20180830_180759.
    20180830_180952.20180830_180717.20180830_180745.20180830_180737.20180830_180717.

2. AquaticJ

AquaticJFishlore VIPMember

Ratings:
    +4,454
    Experience:
    5 years
    Yellow is a sunshine peacock, Blue and gold is a Z rock I think (definitely not a Peacock), and the small blue I think is a Nyassae Peacock.

3. OP
    OP
    Sagar77

Sagar77New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1
    Jake, thanks for the prompt response. I guess you are saying:

Fish 1: Nyassae Peacock
    Fish 2: Sunshine Peacock
    Fish 3: Z rock

Makes sense. Anybody seconds these?

Any guesses for the genders? These fish are about 2 inches in size.

4. AquaticJ

Ratings:
    +4,454
    Experience:
    5 years
    The first three pictures are the z rock, the little all blue one is the Nyassae, and the yellow is the lemon. Z rock and lemon are males. Not sure of the other.

5. OP
    OP
    Sagar77

Sagar77New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks! That really helped.

Do you think the yellow is a Sunshine Peacock or a Lemon Jake?

6. AquaticJ

Ratings:
    +4,454
    Experience:
    5 years
    Sunshine. :p

7. chromedome52

chromedome52Fishlore VIPMember

Ratings:
    +4,070