Help African Cichlid Guide? (75 gallon)

Molasses

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hello everybody,

I put up a thread earlier today in regards to the fact I'm looking to redo my 75 gallon tank. One of the options I had there was an African Cichlid setup. I wanted to see what people with experience had to say about keeping them as I've never done so before.

I'm primarily interested in keeping peacocks. I would like to mix haps and mbunas in there if it isn't too complicated but it isn't necessary. I was also interested in growing out a Frontosa but I don't know their compatibility with MalawI cichlids. My LFS loves taking in bigger Frontosa so that's why I'm open to the idea.

So, I guess, ideally I would like peacocks, haps, mbunas, and a frontosa in my 75 gallon if possible. What should I be prepared for? I know they need consistent water changes (though an estimate of how much and how often would be nice) and I know you overstock to reduce aggression, and that they like hard water with just a small hardscape/no plants, but that's about it. How many of each could I get for the mixture, or how many peacocks in there alone can I get? And is there anything I should know that may be a deal breaker?

Thanks

Islandvic

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I keep mostly all male Mbuna with a couple of male Peacocks on a 55g.

I had 5 Peacocks but they were meaner than the Mbuna and 3 were killed by other Peacocks. Now down to 2 Peacocks w/ 15 Mbuna. There is very minimal Peacock on Mbuna aggression though in my tank.

I personally would go for an all-male Mbuna tank, with an all-male Peacock as 2nd choice. If mine were in a 75g, I don't the 5 peacocks would have been so rowdy with each other.

Attempt to keep only one of each type of fish you get.

Check out the Quinn's Fins website. They sell what they breed and have great pricing on medium 2"-3" fish and large 3"-4" fish. Usually a large selection also.