Afraid of Java Moss?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by amydeb, Aug 4, 2015.

1. a

amydeb Valued Member Member

I'm very new to plants and need some "real world" advice.

I was thinking about getting some Java Moss to cover a couple items in my 75g tank. I started reading and seeing horror stories of it taking over, having to pull out handfuls at a time, pieces breaking off and growing in filters (that would send me over the edge lol) etc.

I have a low/moderate light, low tech tank. Is this something I should worry about? I don't mind trimming it down, I just don't want a monster taking over my tank.

Justified? Or with my low tech, should I not worry about it?

2. NinjaTetra

NinjaTetra Well Known Member Member

Java moss is super slow growing. although uncommon, I wouldn't be surprised if someone sold black beard algae or something similar as java moss. But real java moss is super slow growing, I have some in my tank and have for a month and theres hardly a visible change.

~ <-----thats one of those cool squiggly lines you do before a signature.

3. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

Java moss is a slow grower. It shouldn't take over your tank, compared to other plants. Although a few small bits of moss can go floating around and get stuck in your filter intake.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

4. Jswin

Jswin Well Known Member Member

The only thing I've found with it is when you trim it and scoop it with a net the smallest piece can turn into a bunch eventually if not removed but it grows fairly slow for me so no big deal. I just find it in all my tanks now occasionally

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

5. OP
    OP
    a

Thanks everyone. I guess my next project will be tying up some Java Moss! :)

6. p

prozium Valued Member Member

I just purchased some, should be here in a week. Let me know how your endeavors go... maybe I can learn from your experience :)

7. OP
    OP
    a