Advice On Stocking & Introduction Plan - New 40g

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by CPARKTX, Jul 20, 2017.

1. CPARKTXValued MemberMember

I am fairly new to the hobby, and I am planning a new 40g long tank and would like feedback on my stocking plan, including when to introduce each. I plan on doing a fish-in cycle using Seachem Stability daily as directed, and phasing in the introduction of the fish.

Tank: 40g long
    Filtration: Fluval 206 + Fluval C4 HOB
    Plants: moderated planted low-tech

AqAdvisor puts this at 84% stocked capacity.

Any suggestions or improvements?

Thanks!

2. mclemente06

mclemente06Valued MemberMember

I would only have a scheduled day to add fish if you are using media from another tank to cycle. Is that your plan? Otherwise looks good!

3. OP
    OP
    C

CPARKTXValued MemberMember

I wasn't planning that but maybe it is a good idea. The other tank will still be in use, so what do I do....take half of the Matrix? Take an old dirty foam pad?

4. mclemente06

mclemente06Valued MemberMember

Yeah take an old piece of filter media out of the old tank and put it in the filter with the new tank, dose a little ammonia to get the bacteria to spread and you're good. What I do is I get a new piece of sponge or something and put it in the old filter for a week then use that for the new filter.

5. BottomDweller

BottomDwellerFishlore VIPMember

I would skip the harlequins as they like warmer water than the zebra danios and panda cories. I would also up the RCS to at least 10.

Why a fish in cycle? Fishless cycles are easier, don't harm any fish and are usually faster.

I would add the fish in this order after cycling
    Day 1- 5 zebra danios
    Day 7- 5 zebra danios
    Day 21- 6-8 Peppered cories
    Day 35- 8 pygmy cories and 5-10 amano shrimp
    Day 49- 10-20 Red cherry shrimp (only if the plants have grown in enough and there is some algae growth)
    4 months in- 6 otos

6. OP
    OP
    C