Advice needed Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by upgrade, Mar 29, 2010.

1. upgrade

upgrade Valued Member Member

nitrite level wont go down

Hi, i have been using this site for info for about 3 months now, this site has great info so i never really needed to sign up to ask anything till now.

Ok, I have a nitrite problem. let me tell you my problem, (to keep it short if u dont wanna read my nitrite level wont go down)

I went to the pet store one day to get food for my turtles and saw some awesome guppies(Blue Grass) and i just had to have them. I knew they'd get Eaton if i put with the turtles so i bought a cheep 10 gallon tank. At the time i didn't know about the cycle seeing as turtles only swim in the water. I bought a corner filter, heater, light, testing kit and Prime.

I added warm tap water with prime and put it all together then added the fish, used the testing kit and hp was 7.5 ammonia was 0 nitrite was 0 and nitrate was 0.

So i thought OK all is good.

I tested every 2 days with the kit and all was good. Then i woke up one day to find 40 fry, so i went to the store and bought one of the breeder box things and fry food.

i kept cheeking the water levels and one day noticed the nitrite wasn't blue it was .25 so i looked around and learned about the cycle and read that water changes and prime will fix it, luckily i already had the prime so i did a 25% water change that did the trick!

Later on i check and all was good.

now (2 weeks later) the fry are about 1/2 inch big (still in net) i did a water check and nitrite spiked to .50-1.0 at this time i know my tank is over stocked so i do two 25%-50% water changes a day.

I have been doing this for 4 days now and the nitrite level just wont go down every time i check its anywhere from .25-1.0

The fish seem health but i just cant get the level down.

Today i woke up to notice their was about 30 more fry swimming at the top of the tank.