Advice Needed - Filtration For Fluval 13.5

Discussion in 'Saltwater Aquarium Filter' started by PTVinnyMac, Aug 20, 2019.

1. PTVinnyMac

PTVinnyMacValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +33
    Hi, I'm a saltwater noob. Starting on my first tank, want to get a mantis shrimp. Based on my research I've deduced the following and I'd like any or all helpful advice:

1) I'm going to use a mix of live sand/crushed coral for my substrate

2) I will be using live rock in the tank, but will not be getting in to corals. I just want to have the mantis shrimp on it's own. I may add a couple of fish down the road, but that's about it

3) I won't be using a protein skimmer

4) If you are familiar with the fluval evo, I will be using the the stock sponge, with biomax and carbon as per fluval specification. Should be good right?

5) What could I put in the empty chamber where the skimmer would go?

6) Any cycling tips and timeline required?

I don't want to rush it, I want the tank to do well, I know Mantis shrimp are hearty. The only reason I feel a bit rushed is because finding them online somewhere that would ship to canada is difficult. Some of the big Al's around town can bring them in, but the frequency they get them is inconsistent and they cannot guarantee the size. (I would like a small one)

Another LFS near me actually has one, that's about an inch and a half and would be perfect. But he wouldn't let me buy it and hold on to it while my tank cycles as he does not want to risk it dying while he holds it for me and then lose the sale (which I do understand) So there's no guarantee he will have it once the tank is cycled.

Any and all advice is welcome and appreciated!!

2. Asomeone

AsomeoneValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +166
    Experience:
    4 years
    So I'm gonna link you to posts, one being my own, another being another recently setup tank. The info provided in these threads is great for beginners since the most seasoned of fishlore chimed in.