Advice Needed - Cycling Tank Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Zerokyo2, Jun 24, 2019.

1. Zerokyo2

Zerokyo2Valued MemberMember

Hello all,

I am new to this forum. Though not new to fish keeping, this is my first time fishless cycling my aquarium from scratch. I have read through both threads about cycling and ammonia and cycling, but i did not feel that my question was answered by reading them, so hoping someone can offer some insight.

Aquarium Info:
    60 gallon 48x12x24
    Eheim Classic 2217 (originally had a 2213 but learned that was way too small but switched out the old media and put into new cannister)
    Eheim Jäger heater (79degrees)

Tap Water:
    PH - 7.5
    Ammonia -1 ppm
    Nitrite - 0 ppm
    Nitrate - 5 ppm

When i first started the tank, i added 2-3 inches of gravel, with driftwood and large Ohko stones. Filled up the tank and added Seachem Prime and then added Seachem Stability. A few days in, i added Dr. Tims ammonia Choloride and got it to around 2ppm. By the end of the week, Ammonia got to 0 ppm. I then added more ammonia and got to around 2 ppm again and basically within 24 hours, ammonia will go to 0 ppm. I am now at the point where my Nitrites and Nitrates are high. To my eyes, Nitrite is at 2 ppm (for the last week and a half) and Nitrate 80+ ppm maybe even at 160 ppm. I have since added some plants (java fern, crypt, hygro, and anubias) to maybe help with nitrates.

So my question is...
    1. Has my cycle stalled?
    2. If not, because my nitrites/nitrates are so high should i do a partial water change?
    3. if neither of the above, do i still keep adding ammonia every few days to feed the bacteria or should i not add ammonia until i see nitrites go down? I've been adding every 2-3 days once my ammonia goes back down to 0 ppm.

I added pics of one of the last tests i did (there is slight ammonia reading since i added ammonia the day before)

Attached Files:

2. mattgirl

mattgirlFishlore VIPMember