Advice? Lost half of new blue velvets on Day 6

PurpleFish
Here's the situation: I have a 10g classroom tank that my Wildlife Ecology class (I'm a high school teacher) has the project of making into a better ecosystem for the three platies that are in there.

After doing a bunch of research, they decided to order 8 blue velvet shrimp and they arrived last Friday. We put them in a quarantine "tank": a bucket with 2-3g of water, a sponge filter that had been in the tank for a while, java and christmas moss (which arrived a couple days before the shrimp), the sponge they shipped with, some soaked oak leaves, and a 1-2 decorations (small decoration or a plastic plant) from the established tank.

We have been testing their water every day (mostly zeros), doing water changes as needed per the nitrate tests, adding about 6 grains of fish food each day, rotating the decor when they stopped eating things off it, and have removed and replaced the oak leaves a couple times. I did drop an algae wafer in their once but they totally ignored it for the moss, so I removed it and haven't given them another. Oh, we did also add small doses of Stability in the first few days to be sure there were enough bacteria.

Then yesterday we found 2 dead shrimp (not molts, these where complete but dead shrimp) at class time and of course a spike in ammonia (1.0) and nitrate (5.0). We cleaned out the bodies, did a 50% water change (which we added slowly since it had been at room temp) and added a dose of Prime. We also put in a piece of driftwood from the tank so they could eat the film off of it. I tested again when I left for the day: ammonia 0.25, nitrite 0, and nitrate 5. I added 1 more mL of Prime and another couple cups of water.