Advice For Ordering Fish Online?

1. BettaFishKeeper4302

BettaFishKeeper4302 Well Known Member Member

So i am going to have to order a fish online. Not sure what website or anything. I am a little bit excited as i have never done this before. I am ordering either a clown or vampire pleco. Advice is much appreciated.

2. penguin02

penguin02 Well Known Member Member

I've only ever order from Aquatic Arts, but lots of other places get good reviews, like Liveaquaria and Trinsfish.

3. Lacey D

Lacey D Well Known Member Member

Check out their reputation.
    Make sure they have a guarantee that they will arrive alive.
    Try to order relatively local, and place your order on a Sunday or Monday for quickest/safest delivery (and the better places refuse to ship late in the week or over the weekend.)
    Check their customer service by asking for details about their water parameters so you can protect the fish from shock. You can also ask if they're shipping them medicated or sedated, so you're prepared for that.
    If you can, have them delivered and held at the shipper's (USPS, etc) facility and arrange to pick them up, so they're not riding around all day on a truck, being jostled and bumped.
    Have everything set up at home BEFORE they arrive, so that you can get them out of the box and acclimating ASAP.
    And also take a photo/video of them in the bag. If they're alive and healthy and settle in well, post a good review of your own :) If they arrive unhealthy or dead, you will need a photo of them IN THE BAG to claim your refund. I like to wait to see how customer service goes before I post a negative review.
    Hope this helps!

4. M

MWR Valued Member Member