Advice For A Co2 System For A 46 G ?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by MissStarfish, Apr 9, 2017.

1. MissStarfish

MissStarfish New Member Member

I am completely new to planted tanks, but I want my new 46G to be planted. I know there are Fluval systems for smaller tanks, but not larger tanks.

I do not want to even mess with a DIY system.

I just want to buy a system and keep up with it.

The problem is, I'm not sure where to start looking. It's all very confusing for me.

I will take any suggestions or links to a Co2 system I can buy that will work for a 46 G planted aquarium.

2. Jamieson22

Jamieson22 Well Known Member Member

What's your budget?

A two-stage regulator is preferred. These are much cheaper to put together yourself via eBay, etc but if you want pre-made this is worth a look for a regulator:

GLAs also builds nice setups:

3. OP
    OP
    MissStarfish

I don't really have a budget. Possibly something $400 or less but I'll buy whatever it takes.

For the first link, does it come with canisters or no?
    For the second link, does it come with a regulator?

On both links, do I need to buy anything additional besides the canisters and regulators ?

Also, what would be the monthly cost ( I'm assuming you have to replace the Co2)

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2017
  4. MikeRad89

MikeRad89 Well Known Member Member

Citric acid and baking soda working extremely well for me, and it's insanely cheap. No need to spend hundreds on dollars on regulators IMO

5. Dolfan

Dolfan Fishlore VIP Member