How Do I Adjusting My Water-Change Schedule

IwanamalawI

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first post on this forum, but I have been keeping fish for around 7 years.
I currently have a 90 gallon tank with one ~8in oscar fish.

My Goal: I would like to do only 1 or 2 waterchanges a week.

For the past year or so I have been doing a %20 waterchange basically every other day (This includes using a gravel vacuum and targeting all of the detritus). I could do this because I had the time, but now I have been more busy.

Even with this vigorous schedule my tank still has Nitrates between 10 and 20ppm. My oscar has also been showing small amounts of fin deterioration, which I think may be partially due to the Nitrates as well as the tank temperature being bumped a bit whenever I add in the freshwater during the waterchanges.

Note: Although my oscar has small amounts of fin deterioration, his colors are still vibrant and he still has an attitude!

Filtration: I use an AC70 HOB as well as an FX4. I clean them every 3-4 months. Maybe I should be doing this more often?

Feeding Schedule: I feed my oscar once a day with Northfin Cichlid food. On waterchange days I feed him a couple Omega One freeze-dried krill along with the Northfin Cichlid food.

I have been thinking of doing a %50 waterchange every week, but I'm worried that will result in raised NItrates. What do you think I should aim for?

Thanks for reading through this, I would appreciate your advice.

-IwanamalawI

Gone

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I used to do one 50% water change every week. I switched to two 30% water changes once a week, and my fish were more active and my algae problems were gone. In doing some research I came to the conclusion that 50% once a week was enough to keep nitrates down, but that would cause large swings in other water parameters. Algae problems can occur if there are large swings in CO2.