Question Adjusting HOB Intake Location

bamos1

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I am starting a new 20 gallon long with sand substrate (I've never used sand before). I bought a Marineland Biowheel filter for the tank. The intake for the filter is almost at the bottom of the tank, and well into the sand. I assume that this would cause the filter to suck up sand and would probably cause some mechanical issues with the filter, at the very least it would constantly clog up the filter media. Because of how the intake tube is made, I can cut it and make it shorter. How high above the sand should I place intake so it will pull off the bottom area of the tank, but not pull in sand?

JamesVader

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I bought a Marieland penguin as well for my tank with sand. I cut the tide so it was about a two and a half inches above the substrate and it works well for me

Sanderguy777

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
bamos1 said:
I am starting a new 20 gallon long with sand substrate (I've never used sand before). I bought a Marineland Biowheel filter for the tank. The intake for the filter is almost at the bottom of the tank, and well into the sand. I assume that this would cause the filter to suck up sand and would probably cause some mechanical issues with the filter, at the very least it would constantly clog up the filter media. Because of how the intake tube is made, I can cut it and make it shorter. How high above the sand should I place intake so it will pull off the bottom area of the tank, but not pull in sand?
I'd say to take it back and get a sponge filter.
I had Penguins on my 60g with sand and they occasionally got sand in them if the cichlids got excited.
They aren't bad filters, but at leas the 350s pull in sand from at least 6" probably 10"...
That is not to say they pick up gobs of sand, but a grain here and there that eventually stop the impeller or make lots of noise in it.