Adding Juvenile SA Cichlids with Adult Cichlids. How big should they be?

Jeffcameron

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Hi everyone, I want to add several juvenile SA Cichlids to my 180G tank that houses a 7.5inch GT and 5inch Blue Acara. My question is how big should the juveniles be before I add them?

My final stocking list for this tank after suggestions from everyone on a previous thread are:

1 GT (currently in 180G and about 7.5 inches)
1 Blue Acara (currently in 180G and about 5 inches) *And yes I have a back up plan for this fish
1 JD (currently in 13G QT and about 3.5 inches)
2 Cons (currently in 13G QT and about 2.5 inches)
1 Red Jewel (currently in 20 gallon and about 2.5 inches)
1 Tiger Oscar (currently in 20 gallon and about 3 inches)

I was thinking the JD is big enough to add in 3 weeks after quarantine time.

I have no experience adding young fish with large cichlids so any advice is welcome. Thanks people

Nick G

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I added my JD, Jewels, Severum and Cons to my Oscars tank when he was around 6 inches and they were around 2 inches. He made a few attempts to eat them on their first day, but after that gave up as they were way too fast and has never bothered them again. I'd advise making sure that there are lots of hiding places that they can get into but which the other fish can't, and rearranging the decor when you add them, as this should help to keep aggression down. I'd add the JD first and see how he gets on.

Jeffcameron

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Yeah cool. Thanks Nick. I do have heaps of hiding places so that's not a problem.

Nutter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years