Added Some New Plants. Thoughts?

Gersh

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hey everyone. I have been slowly putting together a 55 gallon freshwater tank. I 'm about 2 weeks into my fishless cycle, and got some plants in today.

This is what I've got so far. I found some needle leaf java fern on sale, so I went with that. It's currently tied to the driftwood in the picture. The guy was also nice enough to to send me a sample of hydrocotyle tripartita. What do you guys think?

Second, I'm new to the planted tank stuff. I've heard hydrocotyle is semi-moderate in difficulty. For planting it, I took the strand and found what looked like roots. I then put those in the sand. I plan on getting some root tabs and burying it near the "roots." Is this the way to get this plant going? Is there anything else I can do to make sure that it survives?

bigdreams

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I suggest reading and researching about planted tanks before getting more plants. here's a useful article: How to Setup a Low-tech Planted Tank: Planted Aquarium Guide | Bits and pieces of my digital life

You will likely be fine w/ the java fern... not sure about the hydrocotyle... it may require stronger ("high") light and maybe CO2/Excel to avoid algae growth from the stronger (high) light.

Good luck! Planted tanks are fun, reading up on them before investing a lot of money would be a good idea.

OP
Gersh

Gersh

Reaction score
Experience
1 year
bigdreams said:
I suggest reading and researching about planted tanks before getting more plants. here's a useful article: How to Setup a Low-tech Planted Tank: Planted Aquarium Guide | Bits and pieces of my digital life

You will likely be fine w/ the java fern... not sure about the hydrocotyle... it may require stronger ("high") light and maybe CO2/Excel to avoid algae growth from the stronger (high) light.

Good luck! Planted tanks are fun, reading up on them before investing a lot of money would be a good idea.